Twice upon a Time: Selected Stories, 1898–1939

Cover art for /Twice upon a Time: Selected Stories, 1898–1939/, by L.M. Montgomery, edited by Benjamin Lefebvre. The top two-thirds of the cover depict framed images of Anne Shirley, a Caucasian woman with red hair, against a vintage blue wallpaper; the bottom third of the image includes the title, the author's name, and the editor's name against a beige background.

By L.M. Montgomery
Edited by Benjamin Lefebvre
University of Toronto Press, forthcoming in May 2022
Pagination: xx + 332 pp.
Rights Sold: World
ISBN: 9781487544126 (paperback), 9781487544157 (hardcover)
Series: The L.M. Montgomery Library

Pre-ordering Options

University of Toronto Press (paperback/hardcover/ebook)
Shop Local (paperback)
Shop Local (hardcover) (paperback/hardcover) (paperback/hardcover)
Barnes and Noble (paperback)
Barnes and Noble (hardcover)

Publishing History

Trade paperback, forthcoming in May 2022
Unjacketed hardcover, forthcoming in May 2022


Although L.M. Montgomery (1874–1942) is best remembered for the twenty-two book-length works of fiction that she published in her lifetime, from Anne of Green Gables (1908) to Anne of Ingleside (1939), she also contributed some five hundred short stories and serials to a wide range of North American and British periodicals from 1895 to 1940. While most of these stories demonstrate her ability to produce material that would fit the mainstream periodical fiction market as it evolved across almost half a century, many of them also contain early incarnations of characters, storylines, conversations, and settings that she would rework for inclusion in her novels and collections of linked short stories.

In Twice upon a Time, the third volume in The L.M. Montgomery Library, Benjamin Lefebvre collects and discusses over two dozen stories from across Montgomery’s career as a short fiction writer, many of them available in book form for the first time. The volume offers a rare glimpse into Montgomery’s creative process in adapting her periodical work for her books, which continue to fascinate readers all over the world.


A Note on the Author (vii–viii)

Abbreviations (ix–x)

Preface (xi–xvi)

A Note on the Text (xvii–xix)

Our Uncle Wheeler (3–12)

A New-Fashioned Flavoring (13–24)

Miss Marietta’s Jersey (25–34)

The Old Chest at Wyther Grange (35–44)

Aunt Ethelinda’s Monument (45–52)

Aunt Susanna’s Birthday Celebration (53–57)

The Hurrying of Ludovic (58–66)

The Little Fellow’s Photograph (67–75)

The Old South Orchard (76–83)

The Life-Book of Uncle Jesse (84–94)

A Garden of Old Delights (95–106)

A Pioneer Wooing (107–18)

A Chip of the Old Block (119–25)

The Indecision of Margaret (126–39)

Aunt Philippa and the Men (140–51)

By the Grace of Sarah May (152–58)

Abel and His Great Adventure (159–72)

The Schoolmaster’s Bride (173–81)

Our Neighbors at the Tansy Patch (182–96)

The Matchmaker (197–211)

Tomorrow Comes (212–26)

I Know a Secret (227–40)

Retribution (241–45)

An Afternoon with Mr. Jenkins (246–54)

Appendix: Dog Monday’s Vigil (255–60)

Afterword (261–90)

Notes (291–318)

Bibliography (319–32)


Twice upon a Time: Selected Stories, 1898–1939 at L.M. Montgomery Online

Twice upon a Time: Selected Stories, 1898–1939 at University of Toronto Press

The L.M. Montgomery Library at L.M. Montgomery Online

The L.M. Montgomery Library at University of Toronto Press