Menu Close

Farmer Boy Goes West

Farmer Boy Goes West is a novel by Heather Williams (pseudonym of Tui Sutherland), author of Nellie Oleson Meets Laura Ingalls, that fictionalizes the childhood of Almanzo Wilder as a sequel to Farmer Boy. It was published as a jacketed hardcover by Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, in 2012.

From the Dust Jacket


Almanzo Wilder is going west! He and his family are moving all the way from their cozy farm in Malone, New York, to the bustling town of Spring Valley, Minnesota. Almanzo can’t wait to explore, but life in Spring Valley isn’t what he expected. The Wilders have to stay with relatives in a small, cramped house where Almanzo’s aunt Martha is cold and unfriendly. Almanzo longs for the freedom he had back home, and he especially misses his horse, Starlight. Even as he makes new friends at school and helps his father pick a plot of land for the family to settle on, Almanzo can’t help but wonder: Is Minnesota the right place for the Wilders? Or do they belong in New York?

First introduced in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s classic Little House book Farmer Boy, Almanzo Wilder’s adventures continue in Farmer Boy Goes West.



The Letter (1–22)

A Sad Farewell (23–41)

Riding the Railroad (42–63)

A Few Surprises (64–80)

Spring Valley (81–97)

The Runaway (98–107)

First Day of School (108–27)

Noon at Last (128–42)

Letters from Home (143–55)

An Unexpected Meeting (156–70)

Last Day of School (171–83)

Christmas in the New House (184–202)

A Death in the Family (203–17)

The Basket Social (218–34)

The Auction (235–48)

Willy Wilder (249–60)

Tales of India (261–72)

Walking Catherine Home (273–85)

Homecoming (286–98)

Author’s Note (301–11)