Menu Close

Mary Ingalls on Her Own

Mary Ingalls on Her Own is a novel by Elizabeth Kimmel Willard (pseudonym of Elizabeth Cody Kimmel) that fictionalizes the first few months of Mary Ingalls at the Iowa College for the Blind. It was published as a jacketed hardcover by HarperCollins Publishers in 2008 as part of the Little House: Big Adventure reboot of 2007.

From the Dust Jacket

Mary Ingalls lost her sight after a devastating bout of scarlet fever. Now Mary has the opportunity to attend the Iowa College for the Blind, where she will get a fresh start with her education and can learn the skills she needs for an independent future as well.

It seems like a dream come true. But it also means leaving her cherished family behind in Dakota Territory, including her sister Laura. Laura’s feisty personality has always complemented Mary’s quiet nature, and ever since Mary lost her sight, Laura has served as Mary’s “eyes” to the world. Now that she’s on her own, Mary must learn to get along without her beloved sister, and in the process realizes that she may have a bit of Laura’s spunk in her after all.

For the first time, readers will get a glimpse into the life of Mary Ingalls and will discover a whole new side of this Little House sister they’ve gotten to know through Laura Ingalls Wilder’s classic Little House books.


College Girl (1–19)

Mattie (20–29)

A Warm Welcome (30–45)

Entrance Examinations (46–59)

An End and a Beginning (60–85)

Daisy Chain (86–102)

Word from Home (103–25)

The Storm (126–45)

A New Outlook (146–59)

At Home (160–76)

Afterword (177–80)