Menu Close


Launched in 2004, The Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew Archive contains bibliographies and resources pertaining to the multiple incarnations of Hardy Boys and Nancy Drew mysteries as well as related series featuring the Bobbsey Twins, Tom Swift, and the Dana Girls. For almost a century, these franchises have continually been reinvented to keep up with popular trends in mass fiction for young people, including offshoots in the areas of film, television, and the graphic novel. Coupled with these bibliographies of primary texts are lists of secondary materials such as book-length studies, academic papers, and selected periodical articles, which are offered as a resource for scholars and readers of this popular culture phenomenon.

I would like to thank Deidre Johnson for her kind permission to excerpt material from her study, Stratemeyer Pseudonyms and Series Books: An Annotated Checklist of Stratemeyer and Stratemeyer Syndicate Publications (1982), for the following pages: The Bobbsey Twins I, The Bobbsey Twins II (till 1981), Tom Swift I, The New Tom Swift Jr. Adventures, and The Dana Girls Mystery Stories.

Series in Chronological Order

The Bobbsey Twins I (1904–1979; 1989–1991; 2004)

Tom Swift I (1910–1941)

The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories I (1927–1979; 2005)

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories I (1930–1979; 2005)

The Dana Girls Mystery Stories (1934–1968; 1972–1979)

The New Tom Swift Jr. Adventures (1954–1971)

Hardy Boys/Nancy Drew Mysteries [Television Series] (1977–1979)

The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories II (1979–2005)

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories II (1979–2003)

The Bobbsey Twins II (1980–1986)

Tom Swift II (1981–1984)

Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys Be a Detective Mystery Stories (1984–1985)

The Nancy Drew Files (1986–1998)

The Hardy Boys Casefiles (1987–1998)

The New Bobbsey Twins (1987–1992)

A Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys SuperMystery (1988–1998)

River Heights (1989–1992)

The Hardy Boys Mystery Stories [Facsimile Editions] (1991–2006)

Nancy Drew Mystery Stories [Facsimile Editions] (1991–2006)

Tom Swift III (1991–1993)

A Hardy Boys and Tom Swift Ultra Thriller (1992–1993)

Tom Swift [Facsimile Editions] (1992)

The Nancy Drew Notebooks (1994–2005)

The Hardy Boys [Television Series] (1995)

Nancy Drew [Television Series] (1995)

Nancy Drew on Campus (1995–1998)

Frank and Joe Hardy Are: The Clues Brothers/The Hardy Boys Are: The Clues Brothers (1997–2000)

Nancy Drew: Girl Detective (2004–2012)

The Bobbsey Twins III (2005)

The Bobbsey Twins (Ready-to-Read) (2005–2006)

The Hardy Boys: Undercover Brothers (2005–2012)

The Hardy Boys: Undercover Brothers [Graphic Novels] (2005–2010)

Nancy Drew: Girl Detective [Graphic Novels] (2005–2010)

Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew (2006–2015)

Nancy Drew: Girl Detective and The Hardy Boys: Undercover Brothers Super Mystery (2007–2012)

Tom Swift, Young Inventor (2006–2007)

The Hardy Boys Secret Files (2010–2015)

The Hardy Boys: The New Case Files [Graphic Novels] (2010–2011)

Nancy Drew: The New Case Files [Graphic Novels] (2010–2011)

Nancy Drew and the Clue Crew [Graphic Novels] (2012–2013)

Hardy Boys Adventures (2013–2023)

Nancy Drew Diaries (2013–)

Nancy Drew Clue Book (2015–)

Hardy Boys Clue Book (2016–)

Tom Swift Inventors’ Academy (2019–2022)

Miscellaneous Titles

Book-Length Studies




Contact Me

About the Site Owner

Benjamin Lefebvre is a fiction writer, a book collector, and an academic living in Kitchener, Ontario. He contributed the entries on “Hardy Boys Series,” “Nancy Drew,” and “Stratemeyer Syndicate” to The Oxford Encyclopedia of Children’s Literature, edited by Jack Zipes (Oxford University Press, 2006).